Spotted Dick Pudding traditional “Suet” use.

So I am adding the Spotted Dick steamed pudding recipe and remembered that this pudding traditionally uses ‘Suet‘. Well, I have not had any success in finding suet in any store in the 3 different states that I have lived in in the USA so far. (I first looked for suet when I wanted to make traditional british dumplings to go in my chicken stew (as I couldn’t get a rabbit). As a child I grew up on a regular weekly rabbit stew and dumplings. This was delicious with a capitol D. The dumplings were the size of the palm of your hand once risen and cooked. Nothing like the little pastry based square things that you find in soups here in the USA. (Sorry but I cannot call those things dumplings). So I find myself having to post a version of Spotted Dick without the use of suet. I hope you all give this a try, serve with hot custard, it is a great pudding for a cold night. If you don’t want to make a custard from scratch and you live near a World Market or Publix store, you can find custard in a can, ready made, or the Birds Custard Powder to make up a version of your own with a little hot water and sugar.

Before I forget, many of you may now be wondering, “so you mentioned Suet, what is it?” Here is a little information for what it actually is. Suet is the fat found around the kidney and other organs in animals. It is a saturated fat and used traditionally in pastry, in steamed puddings and sweet mincemeat. Suet is essential in traditional British steamed puddings.

Leave a Reply

